Tuesday, February 19, 2019

Italy and Vatican celebrate the 90th anniversary of the Lateran Treaty, February 14th, 2019.

Italy and the Vatican State both celebrated the 90th anniversary of the Lateran Titles at Palazzo Borromeo in Rome, the seat of the Italian Embassy to the Holy See.

Host of the event was Pietro Sebastiani, the Italian Ambassador to the Holy See.  Most of the Italian government was on hand, including President Sergio Mattarella, Prime Minister Giuseppe Conte and his Deputy Minister, Luigi Di Maio as well as the President of the Senate.   Representing the Vatican was Cardinal Pietro Parolin, the Secretary of State and what many believe to be also THE most powerful politician in the world.  He was joined by several high-ranking Vatican officials and cardinals.  

The Lateran Treaty (Patti Lateranensi) was one of the Lateran Pacts of 1929 or Lateran Accords, agreements made in 1929 between the Kingdom of Italy and the Holy See, settling the "Roman Question". They are named after the Lateran Palace, where they were signed on 11 February 1929. The Italian parliament ratified them on 7 June 1929. It recognized Vatican City as an independent state, with the Italian government, at the time led by Benito Mussolini as prime minister, agreeing to give the Roman Catholic Church financial compensation for the loss of the Papal States.   In 1947, the Lateran Treaty was recognized in the Constitution of Italy as regulating the relations between the state and the Catholic Church.